Beginners Guide to Combat

Greetings,

I'm Zelroth, though some people call me Zel'Naga. Either name is fine! I'm still relatively new to Lusternia, at least to the PK scene. I use to play within Gaudiguch as well as New Celest under two different names, but I never actually got involved in PK because at the time it all seemed way to complex for me to even want to get involved with it. However, since I started playing as Zelroth I've come quite a bit farther than I ever would have before. I even managed to get Demi-dod, which is a first for me.

Anyway, enough about me. My idea for this thread is quite simple, after reading and posting within the 'Game Balance' thread, I've decided that it would be beneficial for me and several others if I was to share what little knowledge I had about combat in hopes that others who are more skilled than I will make posts as well to add to this guide for beginners.

To start this off, let's talk about Equipment.

As I'm sure many of you are aware there are really only seven main cures you need to worry about they are, restorative ice, soothing steam, purity dust, lucidity slush, bromide, healing, and mana. There are a few others that also help heal you, but these are the main seven curatives that you need.

Once you have those, it's best to go through your skills and figure out what does what. For example:

Cleave- usable on any targeted body part, breaks shield, usable with either weaponstyle.

Going through your skills and breaking them down via a spreadsheet will not only help you figure out how to obtain your instakill, but will also show you what utility skills you have for your class.

As an example, I'm a Cavalier, and one of the abilities I have as a cavalier is Bellow, which interrupts tumbles and has a chance to stun everyone in the room if it be allies or enemies.